The Uniform Server Community

Transfer uniform server site to live site

jes_uk

Hi everyone,

I have a joomla site created locally using unformserver, how do I transfer this to a live site?

Would I need to install joomla on the live site first?

Does anyone have a tutorial on how to do this?

As simple as possible please, I'm a newbie to webdesign, php, mysql,joomla,etc the list goes on. :(

many thanks in advance.

jeff

I assume you are not using US as your live server and that you are using a service provider.

You will need to install Joomla first allowing it to pick up various system parameters during set-up. Create a few test pages to make sure it works.

I would reverse the question can you now transfer from a live server to US. The reason for this is to highlight incompatibility problems. The first that springs to mind is MySQL.

I am not conversant with Joomla but the next problem is where are the set-up system parameters stored (table or file) if these are over written when transferring from one system to another them you will have problems.

Take a look at the Joomla manual installation process may give you some pointers.

Hope this points you in the right direction.

I could not resist the temptation of taking a more detailed look at Joomla I downloaded and installed it. It is a CMS designed to ease site construction administered remotely.

Had no problems installing it on US 3.3 a quick check confirms it sets up a configuration file configuration.php (it does not use a table in the MySQL database). Within Joomla, changing site global configurations will overwrite settings in this file if you make changes locally you must change the settings in the remote configuration file. (You cannot just upload the file because you will loose the remote system setting).