The Uniform Server Community

Updating Uniform Server 5.6 - this works for me

Simon McBucket

See more than a few posts asking how to upgrade, and either no answer or cryptic answer.

I came here looking for the same thing, here's what works for me.

I am no expert, just checking out CMS systems for the odd site and a charity I do some work for.

If more educated readers than I spot some glaring error or mistake please correct it, just trying to help others who're struggling.

System - Windows 7 32 bit.

For the sake of this example (and matching my setup) Uniserver is located at

D:\Uniserver

Make sure Uniserver is not running (of course)....

Rename old Uniserver folder, say "D:\Uniserver-old" - don't run it from that location or your paths will change in php.ini and mess things up.

Put new Uniserver folder in its place - D:\Uniserver

Copy <old-Uniserver-folder>\www folder from old to new - these are your sites

Copy <old-Uniserver-folder>\usr\local\mysql\data from old to new - these are the sql databases

Copy <old-Uniserver-folder>\usr\local\php\php.ini to new - has paths and .dll settings amongst other things. Make a backup copy of the file for good measure too, before or after copying.

(If you're running Drupal 7 alpha/beta check following in php.ini;

memory_limit = 40M (at least) and pdo.dll not commented out )

**** Keep a zip file of your old Uniserver folder in case anything is missing **** You should be backing up anyway right? :-)

Done this procedure twice now on v5.6 and everything has migrated successfully.

Hope it helps....

Must just add, I just create all my "sites" directly in WWW folder in individual folders of their own and manually create the SQL db's in PHPMyAdmin before running the CMS installer - no fiddling with Apache or multi-domains.

You may need to copy \usr\local\apache2\conf\httpd.conf over too if you've had to edit it.

• 4 months later...