The Uniform Server Community

Confused Newbie

WillB

I have successfully installed Uniform Server 3.5 on a Windows XP computer. My purpose in using it is to test and design a site to be later uploaded to a web host. Actually this site is already working on a webhost but I want to work on it locally. Unifrom Server will not be a live server. This is all new to me and I have a lot of gaps in my knowledge so please be patient. I have put all of my website files in the www folder. I have an index.php file and I assumed that by clicking on it that it would just open up but this is not the case. If I type in the address bar http://localhost/index.php/ it opens but only displays a message at the top saying Error: TNG is not communicating with your database. Please check your database settings and try again. At this point I am lost and have no idea how to proceed. I have tried to find some type of new user guide but can't really find anything. There was a step by step guide for install which was good.

I have read your post several times; you seem to have a working system. All your web files are in folder www and the index page is accessible via a browser http://localhost/index.php/ ) this indicates UniServer is working correctly.

The error message is telling you that there is no database installed, is this database provided by your web host or did you install it as a package?

The question I am really asking, what package are you running on your webhost, knowing that we can point you in the right direction.

All the best

Ric :lol:

I have read your post several times; you seem to have a working system. All your web files are in folder www and the index page is accessible via a browser http://localhost/index.php/ ) this indicates UniServer is working correctly.

The error message is telling you that there is no database installed, is this database provided by your web host or did you install it as a package?