The Uniform Server Community

complete uninstall

superQ

Hello to all. I had version 3.2 then installed version 3.3. I would like to uninstall version 3.3 and the mysql running as a service[c:\UniServerX.X\usr\local\mysql\bin\mysqld-opt.exe MySQL]. I don't know how I set it up as a service, but I want to start over fresh and not have it as a service.

Just deleting the uniserverxx does not do the job I don't think. I think I tried that.

I like the idesa of the server being so secure, but may need a little more handholding than the average guy so I may need to install another wamp or something with a little more printed documentation [instructions]. I am very new to all this and when problems occurr I an screwed. Sometimes I don't even know there is a problem. That is how bad I am.

Even if I want to install uniserver again, which I may do, I need to uninstall the mysql first right.

Thanks for any help

Hmm? Did you find out? You stop and then disable services from Control panel > Administration > Services.

You must have run the services installer at some point to make them services. Do you still have the old versions files? Look in doc\services\files - there should be an uninstall.bat

Yes it is all straightened out. I could not wait 3+days for a reply so I found out myself after 1 day of waiting,but still looking. I had to run a command, not to uninstall mysql --it was uninstalled, but it was still listed in the services. That somehow interferred with something. I then immediately installed xampp for windows without a hitch and completely secured it with their exellent help system.

It works flawlessly and all the time, you click something it is there-- not and error or warning you have to fix. I understand it is a built in security feature of uniserver, but it get in the way of the user. What a pleasure xampp is. It gives full easily understandable instructions on how to secure everything