Jump to content


Photo

Running US as a service


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 lscott

lscott

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 08:40 AM

I've just discovered US, and haven't had a lot of time to play with it yet, so this may be a dumb question: How to you set US up so that it runs as a service (on Windows Server 2003), and starts automatically when the server boots up?

(Nevermind - I just found the run.bat batch file that installs the services) Very Nice!!! :-)

#2 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 13 July 2007 - 01:46 PM

That one is to messy so watch out for a new version of the service program. :rolleyes:

#3 Ric

Ric

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,436 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge,UK
  • Interests:Electronics
    Internet in general
    Open source projects
  • SourceForge IDmpgcan
  • Wiki ID: Ric
  • Main OS: Windows XP

Posted 15 July 2007 - 03:09 PM

That one is to messy so watch out for a new version of the service program. B)

Hi Olajide
You were right it is a bit messy!
After the installation process all I could find were a few paths that were not correctly updated.
Not sure where the messy bit comes in because apart from the above, works like a dream. :angry:

If anyone is interest I have just published my solution, not elegant but works on XP Home. :D

http://center.unifor...o_problems.html

Thought that page was going to remain blank :(

All the best
Ric
:)

#4 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 16 July 2007 - 11:29 AM

Hey Ric, so the modified file you attached, does it update the paths itself? Does it fix the path problems?

#5 Ric

Ric

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,436 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge,UK
  • Interests:Electronics
    Internet in general
    Open source projects
  • SourceForge IDmpgcan
  • Wiki ID: Ric
  • Main OS: Windows XP

Posted 16 July 2007 - 11:48 AM

Hey Ric, so the modified file you attached, does it update the paths itself? Does it fix the path problems?

Yes it updates the paths in addition if you change the location for example install on D drive it also updates Run.bat with the new path (Run.bat was hard-coded). I think I found all the paths but not 100% sure.
All the best
Ric :D

#6 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 16 July 2007 - 11:53 AM

Ok...

#7 davil

davil

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 09 November 2007 - 05:43 AM

Hi all..

I know all that info was for 3.5 but I tried changing the info in all the same files on US 3.3 and it seems to have worked except for one thing:

I can't get into apanel using
http://localhost/apanel/
or
http://127.0.0.1/apanel/


the reason I'm not using 3.5 is that it imports my .sql files differently ( imports as ? ) and I don't want to have to rewrite my PHP for my entire project...

it's strange because http://localhost/apanel/phpmyadmin works fine.

can anybody help as it's probably something very simple

[edit]oh yeah, I forgot to say that I've tried this on 3.5 and it worked a treat... but as I said before 3.5 is not for me[/edit]

#8 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 09 November 2007 - 08:57 AM

Try http://localhost/a/ or http://localhost/a

#9 davil

davil

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 12 November 2007 - 07:44 AM

Try http://localhost/a/ or http://localhost/a


Nope sorry . "Page cannot be displayed" - Cannot find server or DNS Error

#10 Ric

Ric

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,436 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge,UK
  • Interests:Electronics
    Internet in general
    Open source projects
  • SourceForge IDmpgcan
  • Wiki ID: Ric
  • Main OS: Windows XP

Posted 12 November 2007 - 06:16 PM

If you still have problems with 3.3 take a look at this page:
http://center.unifor...as_service.html
It may help!
All the best
Ric :P

#11 davil

davil

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Posted 13 November 2007 - 04:46 AM

Thanks Ric... I'll try that.

#12 svens

svens

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Main OS: Windows XP

Posted 20 December 2007 - 06:49 AM

Hi Ric,

...

Not sure where the messy bit comes in because apart from the above, works like a dream. :)

If anyone is interest I have just published my solution, not elegant but works on XP Home. :D

http://center.unifor...o_problems.html

...
:)


awesome! Just stumbled over another one. Didn't find your page before I published it in the plugins support forum (Topic: Small glitch ...).

In short: In the list of files converted in w2c1.pl ("$use= ...", some 10-15 statements from top) ".htaccess" has to be added in order to pick up the "AuthUserFile" directives contained therein.

I'll point here from my post!

Cheers

Svens

#13 svens

svens

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Main OS: Windows XP

Posted 20 December 2007 - 07:07 AM

...

I'll point here from my post!

...


Trying to find my post... As I'm a newbie to this forum it seems I made a mistake when trying to send my post. So this is all there is.

Svens

#14 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 20 December 2007 - 01:24 PM

lol

#15 Ric

Ric

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,436 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge,UK
  • Interests:Electronics
    Internet in general
    Open source projects
  • SourceForge IDmpgcan
  • Wiki ID: Ric
  • Main OS: Windows XP

Posted 03 July 2008 - 05:10 PM

Well this one has been a slog with the updated w2c1.pl you will find it a breeze to run Uniform Server as a service.

This is included in the combined fix take a look at the Wiki.

http://wiki.uniforms...ombined_bug_fix

Again thanks svens included your fix. :)

All the best
Ric :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users