Jump to content


Photo

Problems with accessing server


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 'Orrible Cabbage

'Orrible Cabbage

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 June 2006 - 01:53 AM

Hey all. I'm trying to run Uniform Server 3.3 on a windows 98 machine behind a linksys router. I have changed the memory allocation thingumy so that it starts fine.

My problem is that I can't access the server from outside. I have removed the restrictions from .htaccess and I have forwarded port 80 through to the server. When none of this worked (I just got various 'forbidden' or 'not found' errors) I tried changing the port the server was using by editing httpd.conf. However, when I change it to anything but 80, the whole thing stops working. It won't even redirect to the admin panel when I start the server.

If anyone has any suggestions as to how I may be able to fix this, it would be much appreciated. I am completely new to this, and I've only been able to get as far as I have by studying these forums, so it may be that I've missed something blatantly obvious.

Thanks.

Edited by 'Orrible Cabbage, 20 June 2006 - 01:56 AM.


#2 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,347 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 22 June 2006 - 12:24 AM

Are you behind a firewall? And are you sure you set the port forwarding right to the PC the server is on? Is anything else using the port?

#3 'Orrible Cabbage

'Orrible Cabbage

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 June 2006 - 01:42 AM

No firewall, only the router. I am pretty sure I forwarded the port correctly, I did it the same way I have always done it. As far as I know, nothing else is using any of the ports I tried.

The only thing I can think of is that the ISP is blocking port 80, which is why I tried to change ports. Only, when I tried that the whole thing broke. Is there a specific set of things I must do to change the port to something other than 80?

#4 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,347 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 09 July 2006 - 06:20 PM

Just change Listen 80 to Listen 81 in the httpd.conf file. The new address will then be http://localhost:81, which you have to type in the Address bar as it might not work when the redirect.html file redirects.

#5 Mav56

Mav56

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 July 2006 - 10:18 PM

I was having the same problem and this fixed it, but I was wondering if there was a way to fix it so I didnt have to type http://localhost:81 and could leave out the :81?

#6 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,347 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 18 July 2006 - 11:29 PM

If you are running on localhosot, then Port 80 should still work unless another program is using it like Skype or IIS... Only need to change it when u are using it in production, as in outside access. You ISP can't block port 80 on your PC... for localhost... just outside.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users