Jump to content


Photo

Control panel won't load a second time


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mint_waxed

mint_waxed

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 15 September 2012 - 07:20 PM

If I close the Uniform Server main control panel, and then try to load it again, it won't load. I need to log out or restart my machine to be able to load the control panel.

Repro steps:
- I load Uniform Server (Coral 8.6.4) using Start_as_program.exe
- Main control panel loads. I can turn on Apache and MySQL, use my server, all is good
- When I'm done with the server I turn off the two services and close the control panel
- If try to run Start_as_program.exe again, nothing happens. Panel does not load.
- If I log out and back in, or restart my machine, I am able to load the main panel and all is good again.

This is happening to me consistently, not a one-off thing.

My system:
Windows 7 64-bit
Coral 8.6.4

Not sure what other relevant info I can provide. Nothing shows up in error.log or access.log.

edit: I did a bit more testing, and figure out that this only occurs if I shut down the two services before closing the panel. If I leave the two services running, I can close and re-start the panel as many times as I want.

#2 Lyle

Lyle

    Support Team Member

  • Support Team
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Calgary, AB Canada
  • Interests:GeneratePress
    Elementor
    WP Show Posts
    WordPress
  • Main OS: Windows 8

Posted 29 September 2012 - 12:51 PM

mint_waxed -

Thanks for the persistence :) ... I was experiencing this as well, however, mine occurred intermittently and I could not reproduce. I too was always stopping both before closing; I will now try your method and just close ;)

GeneratePress / Elementor / WP Show Posts / Do It Yourself WordPress - Sniffle Valve

 

You want a WordPress website and you want it now - GOOD CHEAP FAST WEBSITES

 

Don't take life too seriously ... nobody has ever gotten out of it alive  :)

 

 


#3 BobS

BobS

    Project Helper

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Location:Santiago Chile
  • Interests:Retiring, computer systems, system design, model railroads....
  • Wiki ID: BobS
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 05 October 2012 - 12:10 PM

FYI, this is most likely because mshta.exe, the program that interprets the HTML code for Unicontroller, doesn't shut down properly. I found that this may happen if you rush the menus by trying to stop them early. Since it's not easily repeatable, I can't say for sure.

What I do if Unicontroller will not restart is to fire up the task manager and kill of the mshta.exe that's still running. It's one of the reasons that Ric is moving to a totally new control program for Steel-9, the next major upgrade.

Hope this works in your case.

Regards,
BobS

#4 aldwin

aldwin

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 28 April 2013 - 11:23 PM

Thanks a lot BobS!

A have a similar problem which was driving me nuts.

I'm using Coral 8.8 with Windows 7 32. Tried both Run as Program and Run as Service. Nothing happened and didn't get any error message whatsoever.

Killing mshta.exe solved the problem.

Aldwin

PS. Is there an error log file somewhere which would have informed me what the problem was?

#5 BobS

BobS

    Project Helper

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPip
  • 334 posts
  • Location:Santiago Chile
  • Interests:Retiring, computer systems, system design, model railroads....
  • Wiki ID: BobS
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 30 April 2013 - 07:24 AM

Not that I have found. Thank you Microsoft.

#6 Tech_JA

Tech_JA

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 06 June 2013 - 05:14 AM

Hi,
I have the same problem with UniServer 8.8.4 and WIN7-64bit and the solution is the same: It only reruns after closing the process mshta.exe (*32).

#7 dmccan

dmccan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 09 March 2014 - 01:48 PM

I had this problem also.  The good news is that I have not seen this issue with Uniform Server Zero.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users