Jump to content


Photo

Windows Update Breaks Server


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 dimo414

dimo414

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
  • Wiki ID: dimo414
  • Main OS: Windows Vista

Posted 18 September 2006 - 11:49 PM

I've been running Uniform Server off a USB stick for several months now, and it's worked perfectly. However on 9/14 Windows released new updates, which were automatically installed to my Windows XP SP2. One of those updates crippled the server; whenever I try to run it, either from server_start.bat or from Disk Start.vbs, disk W (or whatever drive name) appears for a few moments in My Computer as a drive icon with a question mark, and then becomes inaccessible.

I uninstalled all the updates installed on 9/14 one by one, and the problem did not resolve itself; however once I restarted, the server began running properly again.

So for now, if people are having trouble with US, simply uninstall the updates from 9/14 in Add/Remove Programs. However, those are security updates, so this should only be a temporary fix; hopefully US will come out with an updated version soon.

#2 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 18 September 2006 - 11:52 PM

Do you have IIS installed?

#3 dimo414

dimo414

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
  • Wiki ID: dimo414
  • Main OS: Windows Vista

Posted 19 September 2006 - 12:20 AM

No, the only server I have installed is Uniform Server. I used to have XAMPP, but that was too bulky.

#4 dimo414

dimo414

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
  • Wiki ID: dimo414
  • Main OS: Windows Vista

Posted 19 September 2006 - 01:03 AM

UPDATE:

Windows installed the same updates again, so I had to remove them. I restarted after each one I removed, and I belive the update causing the error was from 'Update for Windows XP (KB922582)'.

However, it may have been from uninstalling 'Security Update for Windows XP (KB920685)'. I plan to re-install the Security Update and see if the server still works or not.

#5 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 19 September 2006 - 02:14 PM

Can you find out which one it is so i can look into it further......?

Thanks.

#6 dimo414

dimo414

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
  • Wiki ID: dimo414
  • Main OS: Windows Vista

Posted 20 September 2006 - 12:03 AM

While I'm still not certain; between restarts, uninstallations, and the like; I'm 90% certain it is 'Update for Windows XP (KB922582)' that is throwing the problem.

#7 wdtunes

wdtunes

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • IRC Nickname: wdtunes

Posted 20 September 2006 - 01:45 PM

I can't speak to all the technicalities of the update, but as soon as I uninstalled it my US installation started operating as expected. Thanks for the intermediate fix. Allowed me to finish some work as my hosting provider is having serious issues.

While I'm still not certain; between restarts, uninstallations, and the like; I'm 90% certain it is 'Update for Windows XP (KB922582)' that is throwing the problem.



#8 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 21 September 2006 - 12:40 AM

So you have the same problem wdtunes?

#9 wdtunes

wdtunes

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • IRC Nickname: wdtunes

Posted 21 September 2006 - 08:39 AM

So you have the same problem wdtunes?



Yes. But as soon as I removed that update, everything worked great.

#10 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 21 September 2006 - 11:37 AM

Did a little research and found this: http://www.microsoft...D1-3886AFDC6E73

Seem to me like the update is meant to just fix a problem in Filter Manager that prevents you from installting updates from Windows update.

For both of you, can you try going to Command Prompt and running this command:

fltmc.exe

Tell me what it brings out.....

I dont know what is cauing this or why this update should be affecting the server.... Uniform Server does not use or install any minifilters.

#11 dimo414

dimo414

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
  • Wiki ID: dimo414
  • Main OS: Windows Vista

Posted 21 September 2006 - 04:19 PM

I'll run that command when I get home (the Windows 2000 I'm on now works fine). It seems to me that the problem has to do with the creation of the W drive. I don't know enough to diagnose beyond that, but it seems the update stops US from creating the new drive (or possibly keeping it open).

#12 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 21 September 2006 - 08:39 PM

The W drive is created with SUBST... Fake drive....

Lets see if thats the problem...

Create a file called Make.bat, and copy the following into the file:
@echo off


set Disk=%1
IF "%Disk%"=="" set Disk=W
echo Making the "W:" drive 
subst %Disk%: "C:\Program Files"
echo Made the "W:" drive 
pause
:end

Create another file called Kill.bat, and put this in there:
@echo off


set Disk=%1
IF "%Disk%"=="" set Disk=W
echo Killing the "W:" drive 
subst %Disk%: /D
echo Killed the "W:" drive 
pause
:end

Did it create the W:/ Drive? Use the Kill.bat to stop the drive.

Looked at my PC and laptop.... have it installed, but no problems.....

#13 dimo414

dimo414

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
  • Wiki ID: dimo414
  • Main OS: Windows Vista

Posted 22 September 2006 - 12:29 AM

I ran 'fltmc.exe' and a command prompt appeared, and dissapered before I could see if anything was in it.

When I run Make.bat, it outputs:
Making the "W:" drive
Made the "W:" drive
Press any key to continue . . .
but just like Server_Start.bat, MyComputer takes a while to load (the little flashlight-searching icon shows up) and there isn't a W drive. Seems like as soon as the drive is created, it's destroyed.

Update
Scratch that, a few moments after My Computer displays, the W drive shows up.

#14 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 22 September 2006 - 09:44 PM

Is the W:/ Drive working and taking you to a virtual C:/Program Files?

#15 dimo414

dimo414

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
  • Wiki ID: dimo414
  • Main OS: Windows Vista

Posted 24 September 2006 - 03:01 AM

Yes, it takes some time to appear, but once the W drive shows up using Make.bat, it takes me to the program files, unlike the result of Server_Start.bat.

#16 dimo414

dimo414

    Junior Member

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Location:Bay Area, CA
  • Wiki ID: dimo414
  • Main OS: Windows Vista

Posted 24 September 2006 - 12:20 PM

Yes. But as soon as I removed that update, everything worked great.


wdtunes, have you tried to optimize your XP in any way? Changing settings or disabling services to get it to run faster? I've occasionaly run into problems because I've disabled some Windows Services that I didn't need, and then later installed software I needed. This is completly hypothetical, but perhaps some combination of the Windows Update and the Services I've disabled is causing the problem.

olajideolaolorun, does Uniform Server use any special Windows Services? Or is there anything else I may have disabled to improve performance that the Update has now made me need?

#17 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,351 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 24 September 2006 - 05:28 PM

I really can't tel... I know it needs the RPC or soemthing like that services and some other internet connectivity services... The other programs, what are they?

#18 wdtunes

wdtunes

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • IRC Nickname: wdtunes

Posted 27 September 2006 - 04:29 PM

I have gone through every service that it could possibly rely on and tried various configurations. Nothing working. Any more thoughts? I could really use this tool. Saves me from having to run a separate machine for testing, and saves time uploading to test. Any help is greatly appreciated!

wdtunes, have you tried to optimize your XP in any way? Changing settings or disabling services to get it to run faster? I've occasionaly run into problems because I've disabled some Windows Services that I didn't need, and then later installed software I needed. This is completly hypothetical, but perhaps some combination of the Windows Update and the Services I've disabled is causing the problem.

olajideolaolorun, does Uniform Server use any special Windows Services? Or is there anything else I may have disabled to improve performance that the Update has now made me need?



#19 krayziehustler

krayziehustler

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 30 September 2006 - 09:14 PM

i have the same problem, i made the make and kill bats , it created the w drive but when i open US i still see the page not found error

#20 suood

suood

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 October 2006 - 09:24 AM

Hi there,

I've been trying to get this to work but am encountering the same problems...
the make and kill batch files work fine (i can see a replicate of my program files)
... the W drive gets created, it's only when i try to run the server_start.bat file that i notice this happening...

- the drive gets created and everything works
- IE opens up and asks to allow activeX
- if you look at windows explorer, the drive that was created dissapears (like windows shutting it down)

I've tried to remove the windows update, but it's still the same to me :rolleyes:

so i'm pretty much stuck... i did check the event log and found that the Service Control Manager comes up everytime i run server_start.bat

updates:
I was looking through the other threads in this forum and found a reply from MrX

Look for a file called LIBMYSQL.DLL in your C:\WINDOWS\ or C:\WINDOWS\system32\ (or any other folder in your %PATH% environment variable), if you have it in there, delete it.

Also, make sure you do not have Skype running, if you do, enter the settings to change the port for your incoming to something else other than port 80.


and i realised that i DO use skype... shut skype down and viola... US is now running for me... :D

i'm a happy person now... :)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users