Jump to content


Photo

"Failed to start Apache" - UniServerZ

Failed to start Apache MySQL UniServerZ

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 elimn

elimn

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 8

Posted 05 July 2013 - 02:38 PM

I have a completely fresh install of UniServerZ running on a week old install of Windows 8 Pro. When I start Controller and click Start Apache, the controller program seemingly locks and Windows shows "Not Responding" in the title bar. However, after a minute a popup displays saying "Failed to start Apache" and the controller resumes being responsive. The weird thing is, Apache seems to have started fine. The splash screen auto loads, and I seem to have a fully functioning server.

If I click Start MySQL the same thing happens, only after a minute I get "Failed to start MySQL". Again though, MySQL appears to run fine.

The problem is that UniController still thinks the services are not running. So, it does not give me buttons to stop either service, and it has red a red status next to each button. So the only way for me to stop these services is by ending them in Task Manager.

Here is my Apache error.log:
[Fri Jul 05 13:21:04.057964 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 3056:tid 568] AH00455: Apache/2.4.3 (Win32) PHP/5.4.15 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Fri Jul 05 13:21:04.057964 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 3056:tid 568] AH00456: Server built: Aug 20 2012 14:21:37
[Fri Jul 05 13:21:04.057964 2013] [core:notice] [pid 3056:tid 568] AH00094: Command line: 'D:\\Downloads\\UniServerZ\\core\\apache2\\bin\\httpd_z.exe -d D:/Downloads/UniServerZ/core/apache2 -f D:\\Downloads\\UniServerZ\\core\\apache2\\conf\\httpd.conf -d D:\\Downloads\\UniServerZ\\core\\apache2'
[Fri Jul 05 13:21:04.057964 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 3056:tid 568] AH00418: Parent: Created child process 3868
[Fri Jul 05 13:21:04.340546 2013] [mpm_winnt:notice] [pid 3868:tid 580] AH00354: Child: Starting 150 worker threads.

It does this for UniServerZ verzion 10.0.0 and the latest 10.1.2. Does anyone have any ideas on how I can fix this? Is it a Windows 8 thing? I had a similar issue with the version 9.0 RCs, but at least they still provided a Kill button even if it did not properly detect the startup.

#2 logishkas

logishkas

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 8

Posted 05 July 2013 - 03:18 PM

I have the very same problem on Windows 8 Ultimate x64. Anyone have any ideas?

#3 elimn

elimn

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 8

Posted 05 July 2013 - 09:11 PM

I have the very same problem on Windows 8 Ultimate x64. Anyone have any ideas?

Did you mean Windows 7 Ultimate? I do not believe there is a Windows 8 Ultimate: http://en.wikipedia....dows_8_editions. Not to be pedantic, right now the version number of Windows is my primary suspect. So if you are actually on 7 that would throw my theory out the Window, as I did not have this issue with 7.

#4 Ric

Ric

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge,UK
  • Interests:Electronics
    Internet in general
    Open source projects
  • SourceForge IDmpgcan
  • Wiki ID: Ric
  • Main OS: Windows XP

Posted 06 July 2013 - 04:30 AM

It looks like a bug! Would you please run a netstat command and post the results.
Proceed as follows:

a) Run UniController

B) Start Apache as above (wait for 1 minute until it displays failed)

c) Start a command window by clicking “Server Console” button

d) Type the following command: netstat -anop tcp

e) Right click on the banner “SERVER Command Console” and navigate to “Edit” and click “Select All”

f) Right click on the banner “SERVER Command Console” again and navigate to “Edit” and click “Copy”

g) You can now paste the result into a text editor or directly past to the forum.


Thank you
Ric

#5 logishkas

logishkas

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 8

Posted 06 July 2013 - 04:12 PM

elimn, I meant Windows 8 Enterprise x64, my bad. These are my results: http://pastebin.com/JUQvGTPp

Thanks, Ric!

#6 Ric

Ric

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge,UK
  • Interests:Electronics
    Internet in general
    Open source projects
  • SourceForge IDmpgcan
  • Wiki ID: Ric
  • Main OS: Windows XP

Posted 07 July 2013 - 05:19 AM

Thank you for taking time to run the above test. Results you posted show W8 netstat command output format is identical to XP and W7 hence not a problem.

The Apache start-up safety timer is set to 30 seconds, in terms of processor time this is extremely large. It looks as if the safety timer code could be the problem this is relatively easy to check precede as follows:

a) Create two new folders C:\z_test_1 and C:\z_test_1

b ) In each of these folders extract Zero-10.1.2

c) Navigate to folder z_test_1/UniServerZ

Start UniController

Start Apache

Start MySQL

Wait for the servers to start (fail)

Close UniController (Do not kill the servers until end of test)

d) Navigate to folder z_test_2/UniServerZ

e) Start UniController


Expected result:
A pop-up is displayed “Warning ports in use by another application”

Apache port = 80
Application PID =
Application Name = httpd_z.exe
Application Path = C:\z_test_1\UniServerZ\core\apache2\bin\httpd_z.exe

I am interested in the above four lines could you please post results that you obtain.
For completeness also include the MySQL port results.

Intention is to isolate problems specific to your PC configuration.

Thank you
Ric

#7 logishkas

logishkas

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 8

Posted 07 July 2013 - 02:49 PM

The expected popup was not displayed at all. Anything else I could test? I'd be more than glad to do that. Thanks again for the effort, Ric.

#8 Hetasser

Hetasser

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 7

Posted 11 July 2013 - 10:30 AM

Hi
I have the same kind of problem, although with W7 Enterprise SP1 :
MySQL started fine, but Apache just freezes the console for 30 seconds before a popup "apache failed to start", well, pops up

(mysqld_z is started, but not httpd_z in my process explorer)

if it can help, I created my USZ folder in this order
Controller
Apache2.4.4
mysql5.6.12
php5.5.0-1.0.1
adminer3.7.1

should I create a new thread for this problem, or stay in this one ?

by the way, the non-Z version works just fine, so I will stick with this one until USZ runs, so there is no rush, I mainly wanted to test USZ

Thanks

#9 elimn

elimn

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 8

Posted 16 July 2013 - 10:36 PM

My netstat -anop tcp results: http://pastebin.com/ahGKFcaD

Ric, like logishkas I do not get a popup on step E. After waiting a while for the popup, I decided to click Start Apache on UniController #2. Unlike before where UniController #1 seemed to lockup for 30 seconds, UniController #2 never locks up. Furthermore the splash/Start-up pages instantly loaded in my browser and there was no "Failed to start..." error. However, UniController #2 still shows Apache as red and does not give me buttons to kill it.

I was suspicious that the first instance of Apache (C:\z_test_1\UniServerZ\core\apache2\bin\httpd_z.exe) was still running, and the second instance never overrode it. To test this, I added a file to C:\z_test_1\www\, and then navigated to and successfully found it in my browser. While it might be expected behavior for the second instance to not take over port 80, if it is not expected I hope this information helps you debug.

If you think this is a Windows 8 issue but you do not possess that version, for what it is worth you can download virtual machine images of Windows 8 direct from Microsoft: http://www.modern.ie...tools#downloads. Once downloaded, it took me less than 10 minutes to extract and boot to the Windows 8 Desktop.

Hetasser, I think you are facing a different issue. You are able to start MySQL, we are not. For me httpd_z.exe loads up fine as a process and is a working webserver, it simply is not detected by UniController. Have you tried disabling your antivirus?

#10 Ric

Ric

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,535 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cambridge,UK
  • Interests:Electronics
    Internet in general
    Open source projects
  • SourceForge IDmpgcan
  • Wiki ID: Ric
  • Main OS: Windows XP

Posted 17 July 2013 - 08:16 AM

Try the new controller Zero_Controller_10_1_0.exe, port in use detection has been modified.

All the best
Ric

#11 elimn

elimn

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 8

Posted 26 July 2013 - 11:00 AM

That works brilliantly. Thank you for taking the time to fix. [Solved]

#12 WebServerMania

WebServerMania

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Main OS: Windows 8

Posted 23 August 2014 - 12:28 AM

I am having the same problem on my freshly installed Windows Server 2008... Nothing above has fixed. PLEASE help me fix it :/







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Failed to start, Apache, MySQL, UniServerZ

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users