The Uniform Server Community

Installation Help 4.0, Tables?

nojiri

Hi. I'm a total newb with Uniform Server, but I'd like to set it up and load my Joomla! site into it so I can do presentations of the site from my laptop in places where I have no internet connection. I've followed Joomadesk's tutorial's instructions for installation, but now I'm at a point where the tutorial doesn't match what's actually happening on the screen. Here's what I've done:

1) Downloaded 4.0 zip, extracted to a file on my desktop.

2) Started the server by clicking on Server_Start

3) Clicked on "run MySQL". It was already running.

4) Clicked on "phpMyAdmin"

5) Created a database, named it "demo"

At this point, the tutorial is asking me to set user priveleges, but I don't get the screen they say I should have. The screenshot below is where I'm at.

When I click on the "demo" database to the left, it defaults to the "Structure" tab and tells me to create a new table in the "demo" database. What table am I supposed to create here?

What are the next steps to finishing the installation and setup?

How do I load a copy of my live site into Uniform Server?

Uniform Server 4.0

Joomla! 1.5.9

Thank you very much for any help!

- nojiri

post-3449-1236562877_thumb.jpg

The reason your intructions screenshot looks different is most likely because 4.0 ships with phpMyAdmin version 3 and your instructions are for version 2.

Can't help you with Joomala because I don't use it but the steps should be the same, you just need to look for the moved labels.

Creating new users has moved from the main page to the "Privileges Tab" on the top row for example.

But as far as installation, something as popular as Joomala should have an installation script

Have alook at the Wiki:

Installing Joomla on 4.0-Mona

All the best

Ric :)

Ric, thanks; that's an excellent Wiki. I've got basic Joomla installed now, but have 2 questions:

1) At the end of the article, it states: