The Uniform Server Community

php.ini

mrippon

Hi, I'm using uniserver to develop my website on my local machine so I don't have to keep uploading files to my remote server to test everything.

I don't have access to the remote server's setup so to change some of the settings (in particular auto_prepend_file and auto_append_file) I created my own php.ini and put it in the base directory of the server where my index.php is. This works great on the remote server but on my uniserver setup, the php.ini file seems to be completely ignored no matter where I put it (I would expect it to work if it was in the www folder?)

If I modify the main php.ini and restart uniserver then it works but that isn't much help because it breaks the apanel.

I'm using the default setup of uniserver 3.3. I know I am probably missing something really obvious but any help would be appreciated as I am a bit of a novice when it comes to setting up servers.

An alternative to using php.ini is to use .htaccess for auto_prepend_file and auto_append_file, this example explains how.

1) In your root folder (wwww) create a new folder named atest

In this folder add the following files:

test.php

Test page

This is a test file

echo "

Content TEST

"?>

top.php

TOP TEST

bottom.php

BOTTOM TEST

.htaccess

php_value auto_prepend_file "top.php"

php_value auto_append_file "bottom.php"

Top.php and bottom.php are not practical however they do demostrate the point.

View test.php in a browser and you will see the files have been appended and prepended accordingly.

2) In the folder that you created (atest) create a new folder named test2

In this folder, add the following file:

test2.php

Test page 2

This is a test2 file

echo "Content TEST2" ?>

View test2.php in a browser and you will be greeted with an error message similar to this:

Warning: Unknown: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in Unknown on line 0