The Uniform Server Community

not sure

Madkat

im not sure if it goes in here, but i thought id post it in here because its apache i was looking for...

im just a noob to all this with apache and the only reason i was interested was so that i could learn php/mysql without using a lot of bandwidth and i also like to develope my work offline.

information that might be helpful ( i dont know really what would be but...) im running 98se and am using the 3.1 version.

anyway, my problem is that whenever i turn on the server, it works fine, until i try to turn it off... when i open stop.pif, the apache/mysql/pearl prompt comes up with an "invalid parameter -w" and then is "finished" so i cant do anything and have to close it.

so when i close the (cmd) prompt and then try to start it up again (as i like to test things and figure out how they work) it tells me the W: is busy. that obviously rules out anything using port 80 since it worked the first time.

now last night, i couldnt get it to work after turning it off, but when i restarted my computer, it turned on fine. it seems like i can only run it once until i restart.

anyway, any help or even an explaination would be helpful. it doesnt bug me much its once a restart, but i still wouldnt mind knowing why.

thanks,

Madkat

It seems as if your server is not stopping. The stop file does not stop the server when ran.

Try and download a new package and copy that Stop.bat file to replace the one you have and test it.

If it does not work, please reply with your OS, and some brief info i could use to trobleshoot.

It seems as if your server is not stopping. The stop file does not stop the server when ran.

Try and download a new package and copy that Stop.bat file to replace the one you have and test it.

If it does not work, please reply with your OS, and some brief info i could use to trobleshoot.

488[/snapback]