The Uniform Server Community

RQ: IP Tables via CYGWIN or similar!

stream

Dear community,

can you thing if it's good idea to implement an Advanced Firewall like *nix IPTABLES.

What I mean is using cygwin or another thing to use an IPTABLES, because IPTABLES really rules.

Yesterday when I take a look at LOGS in Apache I see w00tw00t trying to access the server so I shutdwon the server, put the IP that want to hack me in .htaccess deny, but at this moment I start to thing about the option to integrate something as IPTABLES.

I'll really appreciate if it's possible, because using of functions as:

Blocking string:

iptables -I INPUT -d XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX -p tcp --dport 80 -m string --to 70 \ --algo bm --string 'GET /w00tw00t.' -j DROP

where XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX represent YOUR IP!!!

Using attack patterns in config will do the same, but I'm not a programmer. Something like:

block ip-host
		  block [
			  "php"
			  "w00tw00t"
			  ip-host
		  ]

Thanks to http://cheyenne-server.googlecode.com for ideas and ipTables for the same.

Good tutorial with example of this can be found here;

http://spamcleaner.org/en/misc/w00tw00t.html

or another good example can be found here:

http://www.fail2ban.org/wiki/index.php/Main_Page

I would like to thanks to the developers of this great piece of software that they provide to us!

Thanks for the heads-up on this attack format. Just love those 'bots. Seems to point out how difficult it is to REALLY secure your server.

So far as putting in IPTABLES, my first take (after doing some homework), is that this is NOT the level where The Uniform Server sits. IPTABLES is at the network-firewall level, and interacts with packets before the get picked up by to Apache.