Jump to content


Photo

multiple db ~ same password?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Tudor

Tudor

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 July 2005 - 09:41 PM

Hi,
First I want to say hello everyone :P ... 'm new here!

I like uniserver and I'm using it with Mambo (CMS). Even if Mambo have a similar support application (that's MSAS), I'm still using the uniserver. It's simply clever and very light.

Now as you maybe know, Mambo is using mySQL and the db file must have a pass. I put it one and I wasn't able to enter the phpmyadmin. That's why I came here but I read some other topics here about how to change the mysql password and that is done.

My question is regarding the multiple installation of Mambo on the same server. It's simple but in the installation process I must provide the db_file and the password. I don't tried it yet but is working for sure... with the same password.
My question now, can I provide different passwords for the db_files? And if yes, how can I do this?

Cheers

#2 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,347 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 17 July 2005 - 10:48 PM

umm, welcome :D To add, the MSAS is also powered by Uniform Server just like the one XOOPS has is also powered by our product :P

To go on to your question, what db_files are you talking about? Currently there is only 1 MySQL User and that is root/root, you have to make another to use a different password before you can use another password.

Hope this helps...

Thanks

#3 Tudor

Tudor

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 July 2005 - 04:43 AM

Oh I didn't know MSAS is powered by uniserver. That's sayin' a lot! :P

Regarding the db files, I want to run multiple mambo sites on one uniserver. So for every mambo site should I use one uniserver or is possible to run multiple mambos on the same server?

Cheers

#4 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,347 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 18 July 2005 - 09:49 AM

Yes you can use 1 Uniform Server. All you will need is a different database for each Mambo installation....

Create them via phpMyAdmin or by creating a folder in the W:/usr/local/mysql/data folder.

:P

#5 Tudor

Tudor

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 July 2005 - 05:28 PM

Thanks for info.

One more question. How can an internet user could see my site on my uniformserver?
It should by something like...
http://12.18.56.78:85/site/
where 12.18.56.78 is my ip (it's an example of course :P )

#6 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,347 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 19 July 2005 - 07:01 PM

Yes. If you use a router you may have to open and forward the port to your PC before it will work.

#7 Tudor

Tudor

    Newbie

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 July 2005 - 01:47 AM

OK, thanks olajideolaolorun!

#8 olajideolaolorun

olajideolaolorun

    Project Manager

  • Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,347 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Atlanta, GA
  • SourceForge IDempirex
  • Wiki ID: olajideolaolorun
  • IRC Nickname: Olajide
  • Main OS: Windows 10

Posted 20 July 2005 - 08:38 AM

No Problem :P




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users